Our mission
OUR MISSION: SWANA is an organization of professionals committed to advancing from solid waste management to resource management through a shared emphasis on education, advocacy, and research.

Sierra Chapter's Richard H. Townley Scholarship

The Richard H. Townley Scholarship is available exclusively within the SWANA Central California Sierra Chapter. To qualify, applicants must be either graduating from high school in the spring or currently a freshman at a junior college or four-year college/university and continuing their college education. In addition, the scholarship candidates must be the son, daughter, grandson, or granddaughter of a member in good standing in the Central California Sierra Chapter of SWANA. Scholarship recipients will be provided a complimentary one-year student membership in SWANA.

Sierra Chapter’s Scholarship application process is integrated with SWANA International’s Category I, Grant H. Flint International Scholarship Awards Program, therefore, one application is used for both. However, Sierra Chapter does not require submittal of SAT/ACT or Achievement Test Scores or a letter of acceptance from an accredited institution. Read the application instructions closely prior to submittal.

The 2023 application deadline was May 1, after which the Sierra Chapter Scholarship Committee evaluated all applications and announced Jake Lauro as the recipient of this year's R.H. Townley Scholarship! Sierra Chapter then nominated Jake for one of the three $5,000 Category 1 - Grant H. Flint Scholarships awarded by SWANA. 

Congratulations Jake! Best wishes in your college education and bright future!

Scholarship Recipients

Year Scholarship Recipient(s)
2023 Jake Lauro
2022 Jayson Lopez
2021 Samantha Redelfs & Matthew Zetz
2020 Ashley Danner & Zach Zetz
2019 Julia Rodriquez, Liberty Loreto & Zach Zetz
2018 Kyle Yerrick
2017 No scholarships awarded
2016 Jesse Serpa & Jacob Redelfs
2015 Caitlin Larkin
2014 Caitlin Larkin & Jacob Serpa
2013 No scholarships awarded
2012 Lauryn Brown, Kristen Ewert & Sarah Worrell
2011 Sarah Worrell
2010 Emily Greenwood
2009 Laura Greenwood
2008 Kate Gilbert & Kathleen McCutcheon
2007 Kate Greenwood & Justin Andrews
2006 No Scholarship this year to align with the SWANA Grant Flint Scholarship
2005 Afton Sides & Jared Hagemon
2004 Ken Beurmann & Samantha Brodie
2003 Jennifer Tierce & Steven McCutcheon
2002 Karyn Barnes
2001 Chantel Washington
2000 Jill Strait
1999 Brett Adams
1998 Susan Sanchez
1997 Brad Strait
1996 Nick Strait
1995 Chad Tindel
1994 Jill Stafford

About swanacal.com

 We are the Central California Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America. Our members serve communities stretching from the Pacific Ocean to the Sierra Nevada Mountains by providing everyday solutions to solid waste issues through effective resource management.

Board of Directors LOGIN